Author Advice, Case Study, Publication, Self-Publishing Author Case Study

#WritingCommunity Author Sarah O’Neill joins me today to share her self-publishing journey @soneillauthor #AmWriting #AmEditing

Thank you so much for joining me, Sarah. Can you introduce yourself and tell us when your journey began?

My name is Sarah O’Neill and my journey began almost ten years ago when I studied Creative Writing in college and it became more than just a hobby, it was something that I wanted to make a career of.

Tell us where you are on your self-publishing journey right now in terms of books published, where you publish, if you’re yet to press the publish button etc.

I currently have one published novel and I’m working on my second which will be ready for editing and publishing later this year. I currently publish primarily online via Amazon and Kobo. I publish paperbacks via Createspace which are available at Barnes & Noble and The Book Depository.

Why did you choose to self-publish?

At the time, it was the best option for me because I had tried other routes and was unsuccessful. I researched self-publishing and found that it suited me more than any other option.

What’s best thing about self-publishing?

The full control that you have over every aspect of your book. You are totally in control of editing, cover design, etc. The book is still 100% yours at the end of the process because you’re responsible for everything.

And the worst?

The responsibility of every aspect. Especially as a new, emerging writer that no one has heard of because you are the sole person responsible for getting your book into as many markets as possible, for promoting your book, and for selling your book. It’s hard work but at least you know that you’ve done everything you possibly can.

What do you know now that you wish you’d known before you published your first book?

I wish that I had researched the market before I published so that I was more prepared. My book was published in December 2017 and I’m still learning how to market, promote, and sell. This is very important information to have before you publish.

If you could change one thing about your self-publishing journey, what would it be and why?

I wish that I was more prepared for every aspect that comes with selling and promoting your indie book. If I could change one thing it would be that I had researched before I hit that publish button.

Do you have any advice for those who might be looking into self-publishing?

Research, research, research. Have all your information ready before you decide i.e. editing services, cover design, selling portals (and the difference in formatting for each one), marketing plan, book reviewers, and budget. You don’t get an advance from a publisher so you need to invest your time and money and be prepared that you may not earn that money back or barely break even.

Anything else you’d like to share?

Believe in yourself. Self-publish if it feels right for you but always make sure that you’re publishing work that has been edited. Readers spend their hard-earned money on your book so you want it to be the best it can possibly be. Most of all, have fun and enjoy the experience.

Some wonderful advice here, Sarah, thank you.

Sarah’s debut, Deadly Obsession, is out now, folks.

Here’s the blurb …

Lilly Mason has always run from her problems, this time, she’s running for her life…
When word of a family bereavement reaches Lilly, she flees an abusive relationship in California and returns to Kansas to face her fears – the family she abandoned and the man she ran away from four years ago.
Donnie O’Malley knows that Lilly is hiding something. She’s terrified, on edge, and she’s got bruises she can’t explain.
Lilly’s new chance at life is threatened when her past refuses to let her go and she and her family are forced to fight for their lives against the enemy that threatens to end them all…

You can get your copy now:

And you can keep up with all Sarah’s news by following her on social media:

Blog http://www.sarahoneillwrites.blogspot.ie

Twitter: @soneillwrites

Instagram: @sarahoneill23

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/sarahoneillauthor

Sarah O'Neill

Sarah O’Neill lives in South Wicklow in Ireland with her fiancé and their dogs. She is a college graduate with a B.A in Humanities. An avid bookworm and animal lover, she is happiest with a good book and her beloved dogs. Deadly Obsession, her debut novel, is the first in the new Mason Investigations series.

If you’re a self-published author who’d like to share their journey, please follow this link.

 

1 thought on “#WritingCommunity Author Sarah O’Neill joins me today to share her self-publishing journey @soneillauthor #AmWriting #AmEditing”

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.